Finding My Own Way

Posted: January 18, 2014 in Personal
Tags: , , ,

images When life hands you lemons, it doesn’t always result in lemonade. Sometimes it’s just a sour, tart concoction of disappointment, begging for a sweet, flavorful ending.

Let me catch you all up to speed. Since my last blog post, I graduated from the University of Alabama with my master’s in journalism, and I completed a very challenging yet rewarding summer internship at a daily newspaper as an entertainment reporter along with a few writing gigs here and there. But shortly thereafter, I spent the next 16 months on my mom’s couch, scouring job boards and snail mailing my resume to hundreds of publishing companies and editors. Literally, I’ve applied for more than 115 jobs since graduation. For the first time in my adult life, I joined the group of people you never hope accept your membership: the unemployed.

This past November I finally found a job. Cue the screams, shouts, and cheers. Except the job has nothing to do with journalism. But hey, it’s honest work. And after spending more than a year seeing the benevolence of people when you’re down and eating big hunks of humble pie, who was I to turn any work down? My days during those 16 months followed the same old tired choreography. I’d wake up, apply for jobs, and go to sleep. And on the rare occasion when I actually got a response—which was usually a standard rejection email—it was always the same.

You’re highly qualified, but we’ve decided to go with someone else.

images2

All smoke and no cigar.

It should’ve broke me down like it has so many others, but I never quit. Even though I’m working now, I still make time everyday to apply for jobs in my field. Maybe I’m addicted at this point to searching, applying, and waiting. But at least when I’m blessed with the right opportunity one day (and it will happen), I’ll be comforted by the fact that I never gave up on my dreams. I never entertained not being an editor and writer for one second. I just gave up on the standard way it might happen. Thus the reason for this post.

So this isn’t a pity party I’m throwing for myself or a “woe is me” post. I just wanted to give what readers I have the reason I’ve been MIA. My Alma mater’s motto is “I’ll find a way or make one.” I used to live and breathe it. But when I found myself swimming (more like drowning) in unfamiliar waters, I gave in to the idea that I needed to be working professionally with my own little cubicle in order to write. No. We are no longer in those times. People are making their own opportunities in a land where we’re suppose to believe that anything can happen and dreams can come true.

And one of my goals this year is to join a new group of people: the find my own way folks. Of course I’m still going to apply for jobs as much as I can, but I don’t have to wait on anyone or any company in order to write about the things I love. Inspiration was around me everyday, and I wasted it by following the same old routine of searching, applying, and waiting. Why can’t I apply while doing other things such as blogging and writing that book I’ve been meaning to get to for the past five years?

I didn’t just want to start this blog up again without giving this lengthy disclaimer first. I’m going to revive this blog, writing about the things and people I love. Bring on the fluff! I hope you follow this journey with me to self-discovery and making my own opportunities happen. You know with a bit of entertainment and fashion news and trends sprinkled here and there.

 In what areas of your life are you finding a way or making one?

Comments
  1. ehilkert says:

    Michelle,

    Good to see you back on here! I can relate (on some level) with your frustrations the past year. Whatever the case, life has a way of subjecting individuals to disappointment. I only hope the humble pie strengthens your resolve; it has mine.

    • Erich,
      Hope all is well. I’m glad to see you’re back to posting, and I’m looking forward to reading all your film and music reviews. It’s been a challenge, but you guys working in your prospective fields always keeps me hopeful. Good luck with everything and keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

