On Sunday, audiences were treated to one of the biggest music awards shows. Celebrating the heavy hitters and chart toppers, the Billboard Music Awards kicked off in Las Vegas. Celebrities and artists were in full-force at the show and on the red carpet. With tributes to some of the greatest musical artists of all time like Whitney Houston, Donna Summer and Adam Yauch, it was truly a star-studded event. While there were a few fashionable moments on the carpet, it wasn’t exactly as thrilling as you’d expect of an awards show that honors the best in music. But I’ll let you be the judge.

Singer Alicia Keys wasn’t my favorite, but I have to admit this is the best I’ve seen her lately on the red carpet. The songstress wore a figure-hugging black Azzedine Alaia Couture gown with Repossi jewelry and Brian Atwood pumps. I loved the hour-glass silhouette and her hair and makeup. Many stars have taken advantage of the completely covered style, and I thought she was sexy and sophisticated without going too vulgar. Jordin Sparks in a lace Diane von Furstenberg frock was pretty demure, but I loved the color. I wish she had gone with a different shoe color in maybe nude or silver to match her David Yurman jewelry. Her side-swept pony kept the look sleek and polished.

While I thought Katy Perry sparkled in this lavender Blumarine gown, I was expecting more of a bolder style from the pop star. Unlike the Grammys or the Met Gala, it’s okay to stray away from the standard gown at shows like Billboard. I thought the skirt portion of the dress moved beautifully, and her purple locks added the edge I was hoping to see in the rest of her garment. Footloose star Julianne Hough was more appropriate for the event, but she still played it a little safe in this nude and sparkly Kaufman Franco dress. I wish the shape were more flattering because it seemed as if Julianne just wrapped a towel around. However, I loved that she kept the jewelry to a minimum, and her Nicholas Kirwood heels were the perfect complement to the dress.

I was on the fence with Natasha Bedingfield’s black gown. I don’t know what was more awkward–the singer in this sheer and feathered dress or her tribute getting cut short due to timing errors. Nonetheless, I thought it came down to the way she worked it on the carpet. It seemed like she wasn’t comfortable in it, and it took away from the potential in the gown. Brandy, on the other hand, appeared confident and comfortable in her own skin. She was reminiscent of that Motown glamour with the big hair in this nude, fringed mini. I loved her in Herve Leger as well as her Christian Louboutin bow-tie pumps. She was one of my favorites.

I love a man who isn’t afraid of color. Usher clearly knows a thing or two about trends because this bright blue jacket and pants were so stylish. I loved everything from head-to-toe except the mohawk. I’m hoping he lets go of that fad pretty soon. The suit was cut to perfection, though. John Legend went completely opposite in more neutral, subtle colors. I loved the combination of charcoal gray and black, and the way he took a more formal suit and made it casual with the sneakers. These two were my favorite guys of the night, both in fashion and music.

Country crooner Carrie Underwood got my vote for best dressed of the night. I loved everything about the fanciful Oscar de la Renta gown from the color to the hoop skirt. I thought she looked like a modern day rock princess. It was a really flattering color and silhouette for the American Idol alum. Nelly Furtado was another one of my favorites in this white Alberta Ferretti dress. I loved the peekaboo sexiness of showing just a little bit of her “delicates.” I thought the necklace was too heavy, but everything else was spot on.

John Legend’s fiance Chrissy Teigen was red hot in Georges Chakra Couture. I loved the shape of the dress and all the structural and architectural details on the side and back. Her bangs toughened up the look a bit, but I’m glad she kept the accessories to a minimum to allow the dress to stand on its own. I know a lot of people gave pop sensation Miley Cyrus a hard time about her barely there, ahem, outfit. But I thought the Jean Paul Gaultier tuxedo jacket was stylish. I will say her Brigitte Bardot hair was too much, and perhaps if the blazer had an interesting print like we saw on Rihanna, it would have been better. I thought the black and white Christian Louboutin ankle strap heels were perfectly paired with the jacket. Yet, I could see at least five ways this jacket could have been styled like with an amazing pair of white or black trousers. Kudos to her for at least trying!

Taylor Swift sizzled in Elie Saab. I’ve seen her in countless gowns before, but this one really stood out. Maybe it was the hair or the details on the top portion of the gown, but I was sold. She completed her look with Neil Lane jewelry. I won’t state the obvious about my favorite actress Zooey Deschanel. The New Girl star simply will not part with her beloved tights. Hey, every star has a signature so despite the warm temperatures in Vegas, it’s nice to see a celebrity not conforming. Minus the tights, I thought the sparkly dress was a clever nod to mod and vintage shapes and silhouettes. She rocked this Moschino dress and black Miu Miu pumps.

Leave a Reply

