In May, fans of film and fashion can always look forward to the Cannes Film Festival on the French Riviera. It’s one of those events celebrities get all glamorous and decked out for on the red carpet. Two days of style and glitz, this was one event that didn’t disappoint. Let’s take a look at my favorites.

I have always admired Diane Kruger’s style. Not bad, considering she doesn’t have a personal stylist picking out her clothes. The teal, Grecian Giambattista Valli gown definitely was one of my favorites. It just moved really well on the carpet, and it was definitely an ethereal stunner for the star. Slumdog Millionaire star Freida Pinto was sweet as any confection in this peplum gown by Michael Angel. I loved her Louis Vuitton clutch and platform sandals. The jeweled-encrusted bodice along with the sweetheart neckline and gathering at the waist really stood out. Eva Longoria abandoned her usual style and went for more dramatic looks and gowns at Cannes. She was amazing in this Marchesa gown. The train was beyond beautiful. I like her style more when she steps out of the box.

Even though Jessica Chastain in light pink Alexander McQueen gown wasn’t one of my top choices for best dressed, I thought the pockets on the gown and the neckline were nice details. However, I’ve seen her in more flattering dresses than this. I think if the fit were better or if the gown was in another color, this would have been an elegant look for The Help actress. Lana Del Rey made up for her bold, yet unflattering look at the Met Gala in this black Alberta Ferretti gown. It’s a simple dress, but the devil was in the details. I loved the hint of tulle on the side as well as the inverted sweetheart neckline. Model Eva Herzigova opted for a glittery, floor-length Dolce & Gabanna gown with a beautiful Chopard diamond necklace. She was the perfect example of class and sophistication.

Chinese actress Fan Bing Bing definitely took a risk in this Christopher Bu floral and oriental-print gown, but it paid off. From her stylishly appropriate hair and makeup to her green Elie Saab clutch and Chopard jewelry, the star definitely made a statement. Jane Fonda proved she still has it in metallic Atelier Versace. The strips were well placed on the gown. Although Virginie Ledoyen wore an understated Elie Saab gown, the draping and color really upped the style ante.

I wasn’t a fan of Berenice Bejo’s Oscar gown, but this Louis Vuitton dress was a great look or her. I loved the color and how it got darker towards the bottom of the dress. It was a beautifully draped gown.  Dolores Chaplin was one of my favorites in this mustard Lanvin gown. It was sexy without going overboard. I thought the earrings were too long, but she looked like a Greek goddess in this dress and gold platform sandals. Israeli socialite Hofit Golan wore an interesting gown with shiny slivers throughout the dress. I loved the high neckline, the nude color, and the fact it was sheer.

Both Eva Longoria and Freida Pinto changed into something more subdued in black. Eva Longoria’s Alberta Ferretti gown and Brian Atwood pumps were stunning. I loved the fringe detailing on the side and the nude underlay.  Freida was gorgeous in this Versace gown and Giuseppe Zanotti platform pumps. Again, I’m a sucker for sheer and anything sparkly. I loved that it was long sleeved. Tilda Swinton went for a more androgynous look in a black tuxedo-inspired look. I loved the cut of the jacket and trousers. She looked sleek and classy in this tailored suit.

No, it wasn’t a double take. Tilda Swinton and Diane Kruger chose different looks for the Photocall. I love Tilda’s subtlety in sorbet. The color in her Haiden Ackermann blouse paired with the pastel blue skirt and nude pumps were beautiful. Diane Kruger was my favorite again in a Versus lace-up dress and Jimmy Choo sandals. The mini was cut well, and I thought it was a flattering look or the actress. Kara Hayward wore Louis Vuitton, and while I thought the dress was pretty, it was too sophisticated for the young actress. I wasn’t pleased with the shape on her, but she got an “A” for effort in at least pushing the style boundary.

Actor Ewan McGregor was the epitome of Parisian chic and flair in navy Marni. I loved the checkered tie and his shoes. Designer Jean Paul Gaultier was a fan of navy as well in stripes. Although you can’t see it here, he completed his look with blue sneakers. Now, that’s what I call “Tres chic!”

Leave a Reply

