It’s the Oscars of fashion.  No other event puts the biggest names in entertainment and fashion together than the annual Met Gala.  Held in New York to celebrate the opening of the Metropolitan Museum fashion exhibit at the Costume Institute, the Met Gala boasts some of the best red carpet moments.  This year was no exception!  While some really brought their “A” game to the carpet, others left much to be desired.  Overall, the Vogue-sponsored event was pretty impressive.  There were so many beautiful gowns and fashion that I didn’t know where to start.  Here’s the first half of the looks that left me speechless, some for good reasons…others not so much.

Beyonce was truly the belle of the ball in Givenchy.  Even if Beyonce were not my idol, this dress would still be my favorite of the night.  I thought it was the perfect and classy way to show off her post-baby bod.  The sheer and lace detailing along with the purple feathers are just gorgeous!  I loved that she went simple with her makeup and hair and kept the focus on the dress.

I’m not in love with any of these looks.  I appreciated how daring and different each of them are, but Alicia Keys looked a bit frumpy in her tuxedo-inspired look.  I think the open-toed boots are a bit heavy.  Perhaps if the tuxedo pants were more tailored, this would have worked. Florence Welch of Florence + The Machine wore Alexander McQueen, and I gave her a thumbs up for bringing something different to the carpet. But this dress had one too many elements going on and the color was not that flattering.  Kirsten Dunst in Rodarte and Van Cleef & Arpels looked like old Hollywood and not in a good way.  I liked one or the other mixed with something else, for example, the blazer with a different skirt or trousers or the skirt with a different top.  The color was a bit mumsy.

I was on the fence with Lana del Rey’s silver, gothic-inspired Joseph Altuzarra gown with a black cape.  I loved the gown, but the cape was distracting.  Lea Michele and Rihanna got it right in my opinion.  I loved Lea Michele’s navy Diane von Furstenberg gown from the plunging neckline to the high slit in the front.  She completed the look with silver Christian Louboutins and Lorraine Schwartz jewelry.  It was sexy but still sophisticated.  I think compared to her usual red carpet gowns Rihanna went a bit safe with this Tom Ford dress, but I loved the crocodile-like fabric choice.  This is what made it edgy, along with the open back and split, her dark makeup, Repossi jewelry, and black Christian Louboutin pumps.  As with a lot of the stars, I love that it’s completely covered in the front and sexy in the back.

There’s not a whole lot that can go wrong with a standard tuxedo.  Of the three, I loved Bruno Mars’ look the best.  He was more styled in head-to-toe Prada, and I loved the cumberbun. But Kanye West in Givenchy by Riccardo Tisci and Tim Tebow in Ralph Lauren looked quite dapper too.  There’s no denying a man in a suit.

Jessica Biel and Justin Timberlake looked hot and in love.  She was in a beautiful, demure Prada dress with an interesting print and draping.  He wore Tom Ford.  I can only imagine how amazing her wedding gown will be in the next few months.  Solange was another one of my favorites of the night.  I think yellow is a flattering color for the singer.  She was fabulous in this canary yellow, peplum by Rachel Roy.  I also loved the big hair, clutch, and jewelry.  M.I.A. usually takes more fashion risks so I guess that’s the source of my disappointment with this Stella McCartney suit.  The suit would work for any other occasion than the Met, where the motto is “go hard or go home.”  I loved the print and two-toned platform pumps.

Gwyneth Paltrow in Prada and Anna Hu jewelry was beautiful.  I loved the cut of this dress and at the neckline and hem.  I also loved the detailing on the pockets of the dress.  She was gorgeous in all silver.  I had problems with Julianne Hough’s Carolina Herrera gown because of the styling.  She was too reminiscent of Barbie, and hot pink is a tough color to pull off, even if you are as beautiful as the Footloose star.  I thought the fishtail was a bit expected.  Janelle Monae strayed a little bit from her usual androgynous style and went for a more ladylike one piece.  I loved the jewelry and the hair, but I like when she sticks to her funky, James Brown-like style.  She should’ve swapped outfits with Alicia Keys.

I love all three of these gowns because of the colors and textures.  Katherine McPhee kept it simple in Elie Saab, Dianna Agron was ethereal in this emerald Carolina Herrera gown, and Carey Mulligan was my favorite in Prada.  I like the color, belted waist, and cut of McPhee’s gown.  I think Dianna’s has an interesting shape, and I love the color.  Carey sparkled in this metallic mid-length number.  I think from the hair down to the shoes each got it right.

Coco Rocha went for a bold look in Givenchy.  It was refreshing to see someone in something other than a gown, and I thought the jacket, bustier, trousers, and ballet-like pumps were gorgeous.  I loved the print, but I wasn’t too keen on the color combination.  It was a bit severe, but I gave her thumbs up for doing something different.  Jessica Pare glimmered in a L’Wren Scott metallic gold gown.  My favorite part of the dress are the cap sleeves and neckline.  Camilla Belle was sultry in this silver and nude Ralph Lauren gown. The plunging neckline was sexy, and I loved her dark makeup and hair.  Her look was reminiscent of 1920s Hollywood glamour.

I wasn’t too thrilled by Hart of Dixie star Jamie King’s red Topshop dress.  I thought the mint jewelry paired with the red dress was pretty, but the dress was boring.  Amber Heard was amazing in plum Zac Posen.  I loved the architectural and structural details in the back of the gown, but I thought another color would be more flattering on her.  It would’ve been stunning in red or emerald.  The Hunger Games actress Elizabeth Banks went a bit Elizabethan (no pun intended) in this Mary Katrantzou peplum gown and embellished Christian Louboutins.  I loved it!  How amazing is the front slit and red clutch?  It wasn’t exactly a “pretty” dress, but that’s what made it stand out.  I adored the mix of digital patterns and textures.

I didn’t hate any of these dresses, but they were a bit safe.  Mission Impossible star Paula Patton wore head-to-toe lavender in Vera Wang.  It looked like a bridal gown, but I thought the hint of feather detail at the bust was really beautiful.  I actually thought Jessica Alba’s Michael Kors gown was a gorgeous color and I loved the draping and one shoulder.  The problem was that I’ve seen it so many times before.  Mad Men’s January Jones is usually a bit more daring in her red carpet dresses so it’s not that I disliked the Versace gown.  It just didn’t push the envelope, but the color, cut and lines were beautiful.

Comedienne Amy Poehler was all black everything in Fotini.  I was on the fence about it.  I wasn’t crazy about the color.   The details of the dress get lost, but there were also too many details with the peplum, feathers, and fishtail bottom.  Dakota Fanning was stunning in this blue Louis Vuitton gown.  I loved the bodice and the details on the skirt of the dress.  I just want her to do something different with her hair and makeup because the color washed her out.  Again, I’m not a fan of velvet, but Ivanka Trump was another one of my favorites in navy blue Peter Pilotto.  I loved all the pleating details, straps, and sheer sides and back.  She’s becoming one to watch on the carpet.

There was potential in all three of these gowns.  They’re just a bit boring.  I loved the color and satin trim of Claire Danes’ J. Mendel gown, along with her Van Cleef & Arpels jewelry and nude Christian Louboutin heels.  Something was slightly off about it at the top, and I wasn’t sure if the asymmetry was designed that way or if there was a problem with the fit.  I don’t think the hair helped.  La La Anthony was beautiful in this cobalt blue Zac Posen gown. It was just a basic gown that didn’t make as much noise as the other gowns.  Karolina Kurkova was the exact opposite in Rachel Zoe.  I loved the gown overall, including the shoulders and high neckline.  But she went too far with the turban.  It looked like a costume with that added detail.

I don’t think it’s possible for Hilary Swank to top her Calvin Klein dress at the Oscars.  This cranberry Michael Kors dress was pretty, and I loved the draping and halter effect.  Hilary’s ringlets were a nice complement to the dress, but it was just a bit too plain for me.  Girl with a Dragon Tattoo star Rooney Mara was one of my favorites because she combined leather and lace in Givenchy.  It was goth meets glam in an unexpected way.  I loved the one shoulder and slightly longer sleeve.  Kudos to her for the styling and makeup. Chloe Sevigny is one of my style icons because she’s not afraid to take risks.  I thought this mirrored Miu Miu mini was different and chic. I’m not thrilled about the shoe choice, but it was still a good look for her.

Comments
  1. […] Red Carpet Roundup: Met Gala Fashion […]

Leave a Reply

