The 98th annual White House Correspondents’ Dinner took place on April 28.  Jimmy Kimmel hosted the event, but the real stars were the beauties who attended the Gala.  Below are some of my favorite looks from the red carpet.  Which star made your best or worst dressed list?

    
Gracing the carpet in one of this season’s biggest trends, the peplum, the Hunger Games star was primed to perfection in red.  In addition to her beautiful Antonio Berardi dress and Lara Bohnic clutch, Elizabeth Banks looked sophisticated and elegant with ringlets framing her face and a bold red lip to match.

                                  

True Blood actress Anna Paquin looked amazing in this black Herve L. Leroux gown. It was cut so well I could barely see her tiny baby bump.  I love the sheer detailing and cutouts.  I think she looks polished, and I adore the earrings.

     

Comedic actress Leslie Mann wore one of my favorite dresses of the night. While everyone else went for the typical black or pastel gown, Mann embraced a bit of color in the floral print of this navy Naeem Khan gown.  I love the belt at the waist and the one shoulder asymmetric cut.  She looked fabulous in a matching clutch and makeup.

    

Ivanka Trump sparkled in this Naeem Khan gown with a plunging neckline.  I just love all the lines, and I think it is really flattering for Ivanka.  There’s something interesting, yet, striking about the metallics and nude underlay effects.

   

New mommy-to-be Reese Witherspoon was so beautiful in this black Monique Lhuillier gown.  Again, it’s all about cut, and you can barely tell she’s pregnant here.  I love all the details on the top half and that the actress paired the all black gown with emerald and opal Irene Neuwirth jewelry.  I also think her vintage hair style complements the look.

    

I am normally not a fan of velvet anything, but Kim Kardashian was reminiscent of old Hollywood glamour in this Johanna Johnson gown.  The color looks amazing on her, and I think if it were black or cranberry, it would have been too mumsy and old-fashioned.  It gets an instant style upgrade with the shoulder and waist detailing and open back.  I love that her hair is in a pretty top knot.

   

Dakota Fanning looked ethereal in this light blue and long sleeved Prada dress, Prada clutch, Cartier bangles, and Giuseppe Zanotti heels.  Although I wish she’d change up her hair a bit, I love this dress on her with the keyhole detail and open back.  I also like the hem at the bottom and how it’s slightly asymmetric and cut higher in the front.

    

Once Upon a Time star Ginnifer Goodwin is always flawless to me.  Maybe it’s her adorable pixie cut or the fact she has impeccable styling.  Either way, she looked great in this light gray H&M dress. I am in love with the ruffled bottom and peplum-esque sleeveless top.  I also think she made a great choice in the red lip, Stark clutch, and Bulgari jewelry.

    

Charlize Theron always gets it right on the carpet, and even though this look is a bit subtle for her, she still looked amazing in this Emilio Pucci gown and Manolo Blahnik heels.  I love the scallop detailing throughout and at the neckline.  This dress was originally designed without the nude underlay, but I think Charlize makes it work here.  While it is more covered up, the “wow” factors are the black side panels and open back.

    

Everyone knows I totally have a girl crush on Zooey Deschanel, and while this isn’t the best I’ve seen her, this was still a beautiful Oscar de la Renta gown.  If the dress had been hemmed or fitted to her, this would have been a better look overall.  I think the makeup is a bit too heavy for this delicate dress, but Zooey makes anything work.

   

Kate Hudson was stunning in this sequin Jenny Packham gown and Edie Parker clutch.  The dress is pretty plain, but what makes it stand out is the color and that hint of black at the end of the sleeves.  I also think there’s something sexy about a dress that’s completely covered.  Kate channeled a bit of glamour like her mom, Goldie Hawn, here.

   

Another Naeem Khan stunner, First Lady Michelle Obama was perfection in this gown and Carla Amorim earrings.  I love the color and the fact she’s not afraid to go there with prints.  Her hair and makeup are equally flawless.  This dress has some beautiful detailing that you can’t see on Mrs. Obama, but on the runway, it was a hit!

    

There’s something a bit unorthodox about this Tory Burch peplum dress on Rashida Jones that I love.  I think the color combination is beautiful along with the fact that it’s polka dot.  The top portion is really beautiful, and it’s a chic and classic look for the Parks and Recreation star.

    

Scandal actress Kerry Washington is always my personal favorite on the red carpet.  While I do love this coral Calvin Klein dress and Roger Vivier clutch, I wish the dress were a bit more fitted.  The looseness and caftan-like effect throughout the dress isn’t that flattering on Kerry, and she has an amazing figure.  I do love her sleek ponytail, though.

    

Model-turned-designer, Elle Macpherson, wore another one of my favorite looks of the evening.  Although it is a basic black Romona Keveza dress, there is something so intriguing about the architectural and structural bodice paired with the skirt and high slit.  I love her diamond encrusted heels, and I think she looked amazing from head-to-toe.

Comments
  1. […] Rashida Jones opted for Tory Burch again, and I thought she was beautiful here as she was at the White House Correspondents’ Dinner.  She looked feminine and sexy in this floral gown with a belted waist.  I loved the straps and […]

Leave a Reply

