New HBO Series, “The Newsroom”

Posted: April 13, 2012 in Entertainment
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Lately, I’ve been watching anything journalism related to understand a culture that’s not as readily familiar to me as some of my other classmates (“Lou Grant,” anyone?). I know television does not equal reality, but some of the subjects we’ve been discussing in my graduate classes have come into play on these shows.  After watching documentaries like “Page One” on The New York Times  and “The September Issue” chronicling Vogue closing one of their biggest issues, I’m a bit intrigued about HBO’s new series, “The Newsroom.”  Judging from the preview below, it has potential.  The rant alone sold me. I’ve always wanted news anchors to loosen their ties or blouses and tell America what they really think.  Just don’t tell my journalism professors I wrote that.

The main character of  Aaron Sorkin’s “The Newsroom” is Will McAvoy played by Jeff Daniels. McAvoy is somewhat of a neutral news anchor, until the day he explodes in front of a group of students.  The actual cable outlet McAvoy works for is suppose to be reminiscent of CNN.  I’m really interested to see how it reflects journalism today, even if it is from the broadcast perspective.  We’re all in the business of telling stories, but I want to see how they tackle commercial pressure versus journalistic integrity and objectivity, of course, with a dash of drama here and there.  I know it is frowned upon for anchors to express their opinion, and I believe this will be McAvoy’s struggle in the new series.  The series premieres on June 24.  Will you be watching?

Comments
  1. christicowan says:

    I don’t know about the show Lou Grant, but I am definitely a Mary Tyler Moore fan. This new series looks like it could be pretty good!

Leave a Reply

