Hip-Hop 101: “The Art of Rap”

Posted: April 13, 2012 in Entertainment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m a sucker for hip-hop, documentaries, music, and well, anything of entertainment value.  I remember doing a presentation in my speech class during undergrad on the pros and cons of music censorship, particularly rap music.  I had to take a stand on the issue and fight for it.  Of course I was against it, and I didn’t have nice words for Tipper Gore.  I got an “A” for passion, delivery, and my speech being well-researched.  I didn’t have to dig too far for information because music is all I’ve known since I could talk (literally). My parents were cool enough to let me explore different types of music, books, art, and film.  I remember referencing Ice-T’s “Cop Killer” in that speech because it was so controversial and led the movement to censorship.  Now, the same man is responsible for the new documentary, “Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap.”  Honestly, it’s been a long time coming, and I can’t wait until it hits theaters June 15.

The film gives a history lesson on hip-hop taught by some of the best to ever do it.  It’s  a combination of interviews with artists like KRS-One, Run-DMC, Kanye West, Nas, and Eminem.  Hip-hop is not about music.  It’s a lifestyle.  It’s a culture. Rap is poetry, glorifying everyday struggles. It isn’t pretty, nor should it be. It’s gritty, and that real-life perspective is what makes it my first love.  Listening to rap music is what inspired me to be a writer.  It’s how I crafted my style of writing creatively.  I didn’t have the experience or education to back it up. I learned how to tell stories and paint scenes with words from great rappers and lyricists.  By that same token, not all rap music is good music.  You have to listen between the lines and bars to appreciate a movement that has brought all types of people together, culturally and socially.  Here is a preview below of the new documentary. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

