As Julie Andrews so eloquently sung in The Sound of Music, these are a few of my favorite (and worst) things from the red carpet last night. Let’s start with the best, shall we?

Probably my favorite look of the night was Michelle Williams in Louis Vuitton. She embraces this season’s peplum trend with silk ribbon wrapped around the burnt orange gown. The back is gorgeous, and I love the minimal accessories. The focal point should be the dress, and she looked effortlessly chic on the carpet last night.

Emma Stone can do no wrong in my eyes, and red seemed to be the hue that was most favored by majority of the stars. It’s a bold color, but it’s also a huge risk to wear something that could clash with the carpet. No feat for Emma, of course, because she looked ravishing in Giambattista Valli. I love the bow at the neckline, cinched waist, and pleating detail. I thought it was a great silhouette that worked for her body and it moved beautifully.

Maria Menounos looked ethereal in this sea foam green Maria Lucia Hohan gown. The bustier is beautiful, and the exposure of her back adds a little sexiness to the dress. I also love the way the straps flow into the detailing of the center of the gown.

Who said comedy couldn’t be sexy? Both Kristen Wiig and Tina Fey (not pictured) rocked the carpet last night. I love how feminine and flirty this J. Mendel gown is, and the nude color, although subtle in shade, speaks volumes. There’s something very fanciful about that ruffled train.

Whites, creams, and pastel shades were also a common thread on the carpet. Cameron Diaz sparkled in Gucci Premiere. It’s a pretty basic gown, but the detailing at the bottom of the dress is what makes it stand out, as well as the silhouette. Gosh, how insane is her body?

I can’t forget about my guys, especially one that I am totally in love with. I’m a huge Neptunes and N.E.R.D. fan, but what I love most about Pharrell Williams is his style. He exuded confidence last night in this black, three-piece tuxedo by Lanvin. How cool was it that he and Hans Zimmer provided the score to last night’s show? Good music and good style indeed!

As much as I love all these actors, their looks just didn’t do them justice last night.

I adore anything Elie Saab designs, but Berenice Bejo‘s gown was not flattering. I think it was very reminiscent of mother-of-the bride, and it just didn’t stand out. I don’t know how to feel about the sleeves or that sparkling detail throughout the dress.

J. Lo usually gets it right, but I didn’t hate this dress by Zuhair Murad. I just hate that I’ve seen her wear it before, and I’m also not crazy about the cutout sleeve or the color combination of metallic and nude. It’s too graphic in a way that doesn’t bring out the gown’s other great design elements.

I want to love this dress because it’s so different, but this Tony Ward gown on Giuliana Rancic looks more standard for the Ice Capades than on the red carpet of the Oscars. There’s something very interesting about the lines in the center front of the dress, but I hate the tulle at the bottom and the feathering detail at the shoulders. I don’t think the silhouette does anything for her body.

Judy Greer is the classic example of when metallics go wrong. I’ve always thought it was a bad idea to come dressed as the little man you want to take home. Without the metallic center on this Monique Lhuillier gown, you just have a plain black dress that’s cut well, but boring. It looks more prom than high-fashion.

Remember when I said that red can be very daring and will almost always end up in a disaster because you’re competing with the red carpet? Well, this is one of those disasters. Jane Seymour, where do I start? For starters, I thought this Pamela Rolland gown was too simple and relied too much on the color. A color that was not flattering meshed with sequins. You should never channel a showgirl or Vegas anything on the carpet. I do appreciate the seam detailing. She also matched the clutch with her nails and the dress. Big mistake. I would have loved to see an emerald bag or clutch just to take away from all the red, but with this dress, I don’t think anything would’ve helped it. Sorry Dr. Quinn!!!

Last but not least, Jonah Hill. I love this guy. I really do, and I applaud his weight loss efforts and brilliant comedy. There’s just something about all black everything on a tuxedo that’s never dapper to me. I also think a bit of scruffiness in his hair would’ve helped the stuffiness of this Ermengildo Zegna tuxedo. I don’t want to see Jonah Hill slicked back in anything.

More on Oscar fashion later, but what do you think? Which stars sizzled, and who ended up on your worst dressed list?

Comments
  1. […] wasn’t a fan of Berenice Bejo’s Oscar gown, but this Louis Vuitton dress was a great look or her. I loved the color and how it got darker […]

Leave a Reply

